Created by Keyhole Brain and Spine using Wix.com

To Schedule An Appointment

Call 405-310-6977

Important words of caution about online reviews //

Before reading online physician reviews, keep in mind that happy patients generally do not go out of their way to go online to leave good reviews.  Good reviews by patients that include their name are the most reliable.  Bad reviews, however, need to be interpreted with caution.  Above all, a physician's primary responsibility is to provide appropriate medical care.  Many bad online reviews of physicians are anonymous, left by people that are unhappy they did not get what they want, or weren't told what they want to hear.  Appropriate medical treatment is not always the same as what a patient wants, and good medical advice is not always the same as what a patient wants to hear.  For example, to some, there is no good, easy, polite, acceptable way to say that losing 150 pounds would be much safer and much more likely to alleviate someone's back pain than back surgery.  It is difficult to hear, and even more difficult to accept, but in many cases it is appropriate medical advice.  Prescribing pain medicine or doing an unnecessary surgery to avoid an uncomfortable discussion about lifestyle changes may make a patient happy in the very short term, but it is not appropriate medical care, and not in the patient's best long term interest.  Another example would be a person that is perfectly capable of working getting upset that a physician will not certify them as permanently disabled.  Often, the response by patients that do not get what they want, or are not told what they want to hear, is to go online and leave a terrible review.  Those reviews can only be interpreted in context, but the context is not included, and only one side of the story is presented.  Know that Dr. Cook will always make the right decision for you.  It may not be what is easiest for you, or what's best for the doctor, but it will always be what's best for you.

What patients are posting online about Dr. Cook //

Manny Hernandez

April 9, 2018

Dr. Shon Cook is amazing, he changed my life. I am not the type of person that runs to the doctor when I feel pain. When I do have to see a doctor, I don’t look for a warm-fuzzy relationship, just shoot it to me straight. I didn’t want to see a doctor, about my lower back pain and numbness in my upper legs. I could not walk a quarter of a mile without having to sit down to realign my lower spine. I figured it was a result of my military service. I had come to terms with “living with the pain for the rest of my life.” Then I heard of someone not seeking treatment for an unrelated issue, but they waited too long and it resulted in permanent nerve pain. That scared me. Permanent nerve pain is not something I wanted to mess with. Once referred to Dr. Cook, he looked at my situation and said my situation had deteriorated past physical therapy, chiropractor or pain meds. I needed surgery. My problem was localized to lower back. My spine looked great, except for L4-L5 disc. Dr. Cook recommended L4-L5 fusion. I remember thinking, how did this happen to me. However, now I was presented with an opportunity to fix my problem. I had to make a choice, live with the pain and risk permanent nerve damage, or have the surgery and risk compilations due to the surgery. It was a scary decision. There were several issues I had to consider. 1. What does a fusion process entail? 2. What if there are complications and I end up in a wheelchair for the rest of my life? 3. How long would I be in the hospital? 4. What was the recovery time and how long would I be out of work? Dr. Cook said he specializes in non-evasive techniques, which means the incision would be smaller. He would also use low profile hardware to be less intrusive around all the back muscles. To close the incision he would use a modern-age glue to reduce the chances of infection, no staples or stitches. I really didn’t know what the actual possibility of being in a wheelchair for the rest of my life was, but the doctor would be in the same area as the nerves that control my legs. So, this was a concern. Well, as it turns out Dr. Cook had that covered. He has the ability to monitor all the nerves in the surgical area, electronically. If he gets too close to a nerve, he is notified and backs off, ensuring there is no possibility of permanent nerve damage. Dr. Cook said, he expected me to be in the hospital for one to two days, recovery to take two weeks and an additional 6 weeks of light duty at work. Surely, this process would take much longer than that. I had heard of other people getting similar procedures taking months to recover. He was not kidding. I was in the hospital for 36 hours, including surgery and recovery was 18 days, including surgery day and weekends. Heck, I was only on pain meds for 11 of those days. Five weeks after the surgery, I remember thinking, I had no lower back pain at all. I had no pain from before the surgery. I had no pain because of the surgery and I did not have any complications or side effects because of the surgery. Now, 5 months after my surgery, I am still pain free. I can do anything and everything I want without any lower back pain. A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went on a hiking trip in Texas. We walked 18 miles in two days. My back didn’t hurt one time, however, I wish I could say the same thing about my blistered feet. I consider my lower back surgery to be an astounding success story. I am glad I met Dr. Cook and he did my surgery. It has changed my life!

Tanja Godlewski

April 2018

Dr. Cook quite literally saved my son's life. After seeing many doctors, over the course of several years and being told that my son's difficulties were imaginary or not life threatening, it was Dr. Elkatib and Dr. Cook who discovered that my son had a brain tumor. Dr. Cook was the only neurosurgeon willing to help us. The surgery was a success and this has been a long, difficult year of additional treatment and healing but everyday my son gets stronger and healthier. Praise Jesus! My son would have died; his tumor was malignant. I find negative reviews difficult to believe. Dr. Cook was out of the country during my son's recovery and still answered my emails in a timely and respectful manner. This review is a little late in being posted but I extend a sincere and heartfelt THANK YOU to Dr. Cook!

February 22, 2018

Dr. Cook ROCKS! Two weeks ago he operated on a tumor in my head. Before that day I could not walk straight, was falling and going through ####. I had surgery the next morning that resolved it all. He saved my life and my family is truly thankful to have found him.

January 12, 2018

Dr. Cook and his office staff does a wonderful job. I had a lot of back and nerve pain in my leg. Due to another neurosurgeon’s office’s lack of communication, I frantically had to find another doctor and hopefully get a surgery scheduled before the year ended. Dr. Cook and his staff worked me in for my appointments and my surgery at the last minute. He’s knowledgeable and skilled. Even though he spends quite a bit of time on his laptop during appointments, he still seems to be able to multitask and still have a conversation. I appreciate the help I got from him and his staff.

Jeremy Gore

August 2017

The best neurosurgeon around

Bonnie Coffey

July 28, 2017

It's been approx 4 wks since I had a Sciatic Joint fusion. Dr. Cook walked me thru everything that I was to expect and I was so glad he did. I still have the left side to do. And I have complete confidence in Dr. Cook to do the next side. If you have ever had back troubles like this, then you understand what it means finding the right Dr who can help stop the pain. 

He fixed my be neck

Posted on January 10th, 2018

Dr. Cook did a complete disk replacement and I now remember what its like to live pain free.

Great Staff, Great Doctor!

Posted on May 8th, 2017

I have always appreciated the kind staff and expertise at Dr. Shon Cook's office. My questions and concerns are answered promptly. I feel they go above and beyond to make sure their patients are well-informed and receive great care. I would recommend Dr. Cook to anyone.

 

Donna McCracken

April 2017

I couldn't be happier with my carpal tunnel surgery! The recovery has been so quick, and in less than a week I feel almost back to normal. I'm so happy I learned about this endoscopic surgery. It is the least invasive procedure for carpal tunnel problems. Thank you Dr. Cook and staff!

Dr. Cook improved my quality of life quickly without pain

January 9th, 2016

I put my severe case of double Carpel Tunnel surgery off for several years mainly because I was not willing to endure to the long, painful commitment of the method other surgeons wanted to use. I was referred to Dr. Cook by a friend and was immediately satisfied and felt comfortable with what he proposed. He explained the procedure very clearly using different methods including video of the actual procedure and scheduled the procedure for 2 weeks later. The surgery was very quick, near painless and exactly as Dr. Cook described. Now for the good part...the actual day of surgery I felt really good. I could do "bathroom stuff" on my own, I did not need pain pills as my level never exceeded a 2-3 at worst, usually a 0-1. When I attempted to use my hands above reasonable limits it was painful but only for a few seconds. I went to work the 2nd day on light duty because I was going stir crazy just sitting at home feeling as good as I did. By the 3rd day I could grip a beer bottle comfortably. At 8 days I went mountain biking with only mild discomfort occasionally through the ride. At 10 days I fulfilled my ultimate goal and 90% of the reason I elected to have the procedure and that is pounding the rugged dirt bike motorcycle trails. I was so nervous to get on the trails not knowing what to expect but it felt so good to ride my bike without my hands going numb I was honestly so emotionally charged I was able to ride harder and faster than I could prior to the procedure just 10 days ago. After a 2 hour ride I had nothing more than a very mild ache that went away shortly after the ride. I cannot imagine how great it will be a few weeks down the road. The occasional discomforts from awkward angles or lifting things I shouldn't is still there at a very small level but fading further away every day with measurable differences. Dr. Cook improved my quality of life in such a short time with minimal time commitments or discomforts. I could not imagine why anyone would use the "old school" methods for this procedure slicing your hands open and dealing with months of recovery and rehab. He only had to cut a very small slit in a wrinkle on each wrist to perform the Endoscopic procedure and did not even need stitches. In short, I highly recommend Dr. Cook and his advanced methods he used making this once dreaded procedure nothing more than a mildly inconvenient week. Thanks doc! 

November 12, 2015

After reading extensively about my disc problem , and interviewing other Neurosurgeons , I consulted with Dr. Cook for his advice and remedy for the pain that cursed me, off and on for 3years. I had a ruptured disc between C-6 and C-7, and after Dr. Cook had taken very considerate time to explain my options and answer all my questions, we scheduled my surgery. I can not say enough about how much I was impressed with Dr. Cook , his expertise , and his office staff! It has now been almost 5-weeks since my surgery and I feel the best I've felt in 3 years!

Thank you Dr. Cook

Pain in the neck

Posted on October 15th, 2015

Dr Cook and his staff are very friendly and professional. Mrs Misty Armstrong is very knowledgable and helpful in Dr Cook's absence. Dr. Cook performed neck surgery two weeks ago and the surgery was very successful. Excellent surgeon and the after care is excellent also. Thanks to Dr Cook I am no longer have numbness and pain in my neck. Miss Harris also made a special effort to insure I received the bone stimulator in a timely manner. Thanks to all the staff for the excellent care. Dr Cook took the time to use his laptop and explain in detail the problems in my neck and the office atmosphere is very professional yet relaxed.

October 15, 2015

I was referred to Dr Cook by my family physician. The staff at his office are very professional and helpful. The office atmosphere is very relaxing. Doctor Cook is very knowledgable and easy to understand. He explained my problem using his laptop to show me my MRI and explain what the neck surgery could accomplish. I had no second thoughts about having the surgery on my neck. Ther surgery was very successful and the after care by Dr Cook and his MA Misty Armstrong is excellent. I would recommend Dr Cook to anyone needing neurosurgery. He and his staff are #1 in my book.

Great overall experience 

Posted on October 9th, 2015

At first I felt like it was taking forever to be seen by Dr.Shon Cook, but it taking so long was worth the wait. Knowing it took so long because he wanted to make sure he wasn't waisting my time, he new exactly everything necessary, and needed for the procedure. He did an extraordinary job on my back, removing my lower back rods, and screws. All the staff was friendly, new what they needed, very prosise. This is the second day after my sergury and I feel better than I thought I would, and he made sure I had plenty of pain meds to be comfortable through the recovery, I feel is very important. Overall I am very pleased and will return to him for any future surgeries and will suggest him for others.

Five Stars

Posted on September 29th, 2015

Excellent experience all the way around. I highly recommend this office and surgeon

Thank you Dr. Cook

Posted on July 3rd, 2015

I have (or had) a "severely herniated L5-S1" disc. I was in so much pain for 3 months I couldn't hold my new-born baby or tie my shoes, and was really depressed. Two specialists prior to Dr. Cook said I was a good candidate for surgery and would likely never feel my toes again. After standing in Dr. Cook's office (because it hurt to sit) he reviewed my MRI and said, "it's too early to do surgery". Thank you for being conservative and NOT "quick to want to cut" as I have read in another review. Dr. Cook sent me to pain management a little over a year ago. I received one epidural steroid shot and have been 98% better. I realize I will never be the same but this level of pain is tolerable. I took it slow, took my advil, soaked in hot tubs, and did everything to maximize my chance of healing - I was lucky. I haven't been back to see pain management or Dr. Cook since. He is a great and caring doctor who looks for exactly what is best for his patients. If I ever need surgery I know who to call. (PS I had a long office wait, turns out, Dr. Cook was called in for emergency surgery - and still saw me because I showed up 10 min early and was already there. He went directly from my appointment to saving a patient's ability to walk. Be patient - you never know what's going on behind the scene.)

Patient

by russell roby on May 29th, 2015

dr cook and staff are professional in every way and his diagnosis, surgery and treatment of my spinal cord problem was very much appreciated...thank you again....dr cook !!

April 24, 2015

I had a very positive experience with Dr. Cook. His bedside manner is a little unorthodox, spent a lot of my initial appointment typing on his computer, but explained he needed to include very specific language to ensure the insurance company would understand the urgency of my surgery. I had a fusion in my lower spine and he discussed what I could expect before and after surgery. My recovery was much quicker than expected, mainly because I followed his instructions to the T. Since the surgery, my life has completely changed. I'm pain free and have resumed an active life. Many thanks Dr. Cook.

 

Backpain 64 yrs old

by eugene podszebka on Mar 14th, 2015

I WAS WORN OUT, PAIN WITH MY BACK, DR COOK AND HIS STAFF FOUND THE CAUSE OF MY BACK PAIN. AFTER VIEWING WEIGHT BEARING X-RAYS , DR COOK DID AN OUTSTANDING OPERATION, HE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CARING, SKILLS AND KNOWLEDGE, NOW I CAN ENJOY MY LIFE, AND 3 GRANDCHILD MUCH MORE THEN BEFORE. THANK YOU EUGENE

 

Simply the Best!

by Matthew N on Feb 18th, 2015

My name is Matthew, and im so very fortunate to have had my L4 through S1 fused by Dr. Shon Cook. I have lived with back pain for over 12yrs proceeded by pain that began to be debilitating. First and foremost I could never thank Dr. Cook enough for his ability to understand me not only as a patient but as a person. He just simply had that rare "Human" factor that a lot of us in hindsight look for in people and sometimes when found we realize they leave us thinking genuinely about them. This was my big finale following years of pain that allowed me to slow down and realize I could finally catch my breath. His knowledge was outstanding, and took a bedside manner which allowed me to take a deep breath and share my story. Prior to my consultation with Dr. Cook my family and I reserved ourselves to countless hours of research looking for a Neurosurgeon that fit the description that of Dr. Shon Cook. Dr. Cook is nothing short of a miracle among many lives every day. And believe me when I say he has the most driven fantastic team by his side, from his P.A. Dustin Tims, who was also a vital part of my surgery, to Misty who was a heck of a go-get-her when it came down to handling all my paperwork and complications I had with my insurance company following my initial denial of surgery. They fought for me in ways one would for there own family. I am forever grateful. I have yet been able to construe into words how this experience and care given by Dr. Cook and his team has literally restored a spot in my life and heart.  And this review is just not enough but its the least I could do in recognition for him and his team, but also give back to any readers that may follow. Simply put.....I have a really great ending because of a really fantastic Doctor. Sometimes the best decisions are not only the ones made based on all the information given to us, they sometimes are made in moments we receive a feeling about something. And with Dr. Cook I received the blessings of both. In Dr. Cooks office the day of my consultation i knew that I was in front of the person that was going to change my life. He made it very clear to me in not only by his opinions of the condition of my back, but in the person I was seeing that was on the other end of my story as I told it. Sometimes the world needs to be told about those that are changing it. A deep felt Thank You! To you Dr. Cook and your team!

 

[No Title]

by Tom Ward on Jan 22nd, 2015

I would highly recommend Dr. Cook and his staff!

 

Director, NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium

by Dr. Victoria Snowden on Jan 20th, 2015

Without question, Dr. Cook is the BEST doctor anywhere. I underwent an XLIFT (eXtreme Lateral Interbody Fusion) in California to fuse L4 and L5. That doctor failed to use screws and it slipped back causing intolerable pain after a year. Dr. Cook was able to fix it (with my scoliosis no less!) and the morning after surgery I was TOTALLY PAIN FREE. Whatever your back issue see him FIRST! Two other "neuros" here didn't have a clue what was wrong.

 

[No Title]

Dec 29th, 2014

Surgery on back and so far pleased.

 

[No Title] 

by Mrs Susan K Turner on Dec 16th, 2014

I was in so much pain do to disc in my neck, the pain would shoot down my left arm, and tingle and go numb, lived with this for almost a year. Dr.Shon Cook was my heaven sent. he was very caring, and concerned, He was very straight forward about everything he was going to do, As of today my pain is gone, We need more like him in Oklahoma, and I would recommend him to all that need help. Thank you Dr. Shon Cook for everything you have done for me. God Bless you and your staff.

 

Lower back

by Terry H on Aug 15th, 2014

After years of back pain, I finally have relief.

 

Good Surgeon

by Danielle C on Aug 9th, 2014

Dr. Cook fused my back in June. He did a great job! I am healing very well and have a lot less pain then before my surgery. The incision looks great. The PA who works with Dr. Cook is very nice and knowledgable as well. He also returns phone calls very promptly and answers all the questions I have. I recommend Dr. Cook because he is an excellent surgeon.

What a blessing!

by G.P. on Apr 26th, 2014

My mother had a stroke last year. We where extremely fortunate that Dr. Cook was on call at SW Medical in OKC when she arrived at the hospital. Dr. Cook cancelled his clinic and rushed to the hospital to check on her status. As soon as the doctor arrived and saw mom she "crashed" again and he immediately sent word to get the OR ready. He performed a craniotomy to relieve the pressure on her brain. Mom is nearly a year post op and is able to walk and function fairly well. It was a blessing that Dr. Cook was has the skills and training to react as quickly as he did to save her. He definitely saved her life that day. I also know of some friends that have had treatments or surgery from Dr. Cook and have also had excellent results.

April 25, 2014

Best doctor ever! Gave multiple options for surgery and was realistic in my expectations for surgery. Highly recommend.

Miracle Man

by Linda L. Scott on Mar 18th, 2014

I thank God often for Dr. Cook. Whether he know it or not God is using him every day. And he used him in my life more than once. He gave me and my husband, Richard another year to be together by performing surgery on his stage 4 melanoma brain tumors. This was not just once but three times. One time I was actually sent home to contact hospice and prepare for the end and he called and said that the tumor had come to the surface of the brain and he wanted to try and get it. I know that God caused the surfacing but if Dr. Cook wasn't willing to operate or hadn't kept watch it would have turned out differently. My husband has been gone for a little more than two years now and I can say that Dr. Cook has been a "miracle worker" in my life too. I was suffering from back and hip pain for years. Had two operations by another doctor and hip surgery with no success. I was misdiagnosed by that doctor and when I went to Dr. Cook he saw the actual problem and operated and I have been pain free ever since. I thank God for Dr. Cook ..... and Dr. Cook I thank you for being willing to be used the way you are in peoples lives. God bless you.

We are fortunate to have Dr. Shon Cook in Ok.

by Leslie on Mar 10th, 2014

Dr. Shon Cook is a phenomenal Surgeon with excellent staff and outstanding bedside manner. I could not be more pleased. He has performed 2 brain surgeries on me, one for removal of a colloid cyst, and the other to move a vein that was on a nerve causing twitching. I do highly recommend him to anyone!! He is, in my family's opinion, one Blessed surgeon. I have full confidence in his staff, and in his Special skill. He is careful to explain in great detail, all he is going to do. His staff are a great source for information and encouragement!! I was always able to get answers when I called. I remember being nervous about my last surgery, and one of his staff members told me, "He has done thousands of these- He could do it with his eyes closed.." I totally understand her confidence in Dr. Cook ~ He is that good. He actually helped design the tools he uses for endoscopic brain surgery, amazing. My first surgery was in 2011, and time was a priority, as my brain was filled with spinal fluid because the colloid cyst blocked the opening. I was told it would take at least 3 weeks to get into see someone, and that there were not many here in Oklahoma who used the endoscopic method, which is far less invasive for the brain. After a couple weeks of waiting & searching, One office told me to “just live”, that they were trying to get me in with someone but it was a long wait. I got in contact with Dr. Cook through a mutual friend on a Friday, and the following Monday morning I had an 8 am appt. Surgery followed in like two weeks. There was no messing around. He said I would be in the hospital for a day or two, then come home & resume life as normal. And that’s exactly what happened. He took time to speak with my family, and me, and we have praised him ever since. In fact, My parents in Texas are some of his Biggest fans. Dr. Cook told me the twitch I had would get worse, and that when I wanted to stop taking all the meds to come see him, and he would fix it. (The twitch is what led to the CAT scan, which found the cyst-, totally unrelated.) After two years, and doubling, even tripling the gabapentin and muscle relaxers I was prescribed , & with my neurologists approval, I decided to go for it. I had one Dr. tell me they would only go to like the mayo clinic for such an operation. I told her I had an excellent surgeon, right here in Oklahoma. His name is Dr. Shon cook. Surgery was on July 13, 2013. I no longer twitch, I take NO meds. Dr. Shon Cook is Phenomenal. Oklahoma is Fortunate to have such a skilled, caring surgeon in our midst. Certainly I feel blessed to have met him. Our God is Good!!

March 10, 2014

After speaking with Dr. Cook, sudden and unexpected brain surgery was scheduled in 3 weeks. After speaking with him, my family and I were completely at ease. I was never scared. Had complete confidence that the surgery would go perfectly. It did. I only took 1 week off work, had very little discomfort and returned to normal activities, even back to the gym within 3 weeks following a Craniotomy. I wish everyone concerned about me would have had the opportunity to visit with him as they were far more worried than I was. Unbelieveable experience, Dr. and Staff!

Back and neck surgeries

by Geraldine Lister on Mar 10th, 2014

After seeing so many doctors, spine clinics,ect..I was told there was nothing they could for me..I would just have to go in a wheel chair. A local doctor gave me Dr Cook's address and Phone number. I got an appointment with him. He had read the MRI and he said he could fix my back. He fuzed the L2, L3, L4, and L5. I am walking around and have had no problems with the back. He did tell me I had less than 3 months before the `chair' (without surgery). I recommended him to several of my friends and he has them all up and walking. He had to fuze my C6 and C7 this past June. I am a walking advertisement for MY FRIEND and doctor, Shon Cook.

[No Title]

by Michael w McCullough on Feb 23rd, 2014

Dr shon cook I believe he did everything in his powers to help me. He took extra time to show and explain to me my problems now and what to expect later in life. PA Dusty. CLASS. All the way. Although a bunch of people don't want to here this , the young man took time to come into my room before surgery . After a few joking comments we exchanged he took my hand in word of prayer. He gets a Thumbs Up Staff---- u kidding. "beautiful" professional. Caring. Misty runs a great office. Nicole will great u with a big smile Tricia, well u have to see for yourself. The office gets a big yes from me Oh by the way the girls love cookies Mike McCullough

Patient 

by Carri Reddick on Feb 19th, 2014

Dr. Cook and his staff have been a true blessing to my health. For four years no one could help me with my pain and headaches and in just a short time he knew exactly what was wrong and how to remedy it. I'm incredibly thankful.

[No Title]

Feb 18th, 2014

Dr. Cook and his staff were all very helpful and friendly. I had back surgery in December and before my surgery I was in so much pain I could hardly stand it. My pain level now is very minimal.

Wish there were more like him...

by Brent Hays on Feb 16th, 2014

When my fiancé began having trouble walking at age 53, I quit my job and dedicated my time to finding a cure. Researching into the night hours for months on end, I became intimately familiar with the prognosis and treatment of "idiopathic normal pressure hydrocephalus". Several specialists tried to help, but failed; eventually, they gave up and referred us to Dr. Shon Cook. Cautiously optimistic, I did my homework before contacting him. I was pleased to find that the most widely respected researcher in the field of endoscopic neurosurgery, Dr. Bergsneider of UCLA, had personally mentored Dr. Cook as a graduate student; that he had received several major awards from the UCLA Brain Injury Research Center and the UCLA Emergency Medicine Department; and that he is currently the go-to-neurosurgeon in the Baptist/Integris ER. Intrigued, I asked to meet with Dr. Cook; I left the initial consult both very favorably impressed, and with renewed hope. We had many conversations in the months that followed. As a result I came to recognize that Dr. Cook shares the same passion for perfection that drives an Olympic athlete. Never satisfied with "good enough", he insists on giving every challenge his best effort, and he expects the same commitment from each member of his team. As a result, his team rises to meet the challenge with pride. This is what sets him apart from the pack; he is a leader. Shon Cook has earned my respect, and my sincere gratitude. Brent Hays

Terrific experience

by Susan Conkling on Feb 13th, 2014

The most positive experience and a terrific result. Back surgery is not fun, but I recovered quickly and believe it was because I was in the capable hands of a skilled surgeon. Everyone treated me courteously.  My down time was less than 2 weeks. I only wish I had started here sooner.

Great office

by Tina on Feb 12th, 2014

Great office visit. Office staff went out of their way to get an appointment for me FAST and to be sure all paperwork needed was on hand when i arrived. I have never had a doctor spend so much time with me: explained everything completely, calmed my nerves about all my worries, Misty worked hard to try to get quick surgery date. I can say NOTHING bad about anyone in this office or how they handle themselves. I am looking forward to being back to my old, ACTIVE self soon. I have complete faith in everyone there.

[No Title]

Sep 21st, 2012

After seeing another Dr. for my back problem, and being told not much could be done, more than just live with it. We were referred to Dr. Cook, after viewing the MRI he told me this was just routine surgery. WOW, just routine? When can you operate. The surgery was a success, as we expected it to be, and I can't thank Dr. Cook enough for giving me back a normal life. I was so blessed to have been referred to Dr. Cook, great personality and I appreciate him following up via phone, after being released from the hospital the next day, did not expect that. Thank you Dr. and God Bless.

Outstanding Doctor

by Larry Myerscough on Jun 9th, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how pleased I was with Dr. Cook's surgical procedure to correct my problem. This doctor spent a lot of time explaining to my wife and I what my problem was and what he could do to repair it. Great personality, terrific bedside manner and just a real genuine human who cares for his patients. I would recommend Dr. Cook to anyone who needed a neurosurgeon. We think the world of him!

The Best

Feb 27th, 2012

Very caring and extremely thorough. Dr. Cook shows great attention to detail. Came to see me three times during a two day hospital stay. A wonderful experience with Dr. Cook and his office as a whole. Norman is very lucky to have a doctor of Dr. Cook's caliber here in town.

[No Title]

Jan 6th, 2012

2-1/2 yrs. ago Dr shon cook preformed back surgery called (minimal invasive microdiscecodomy on me & relieve terrible sciatica pain. . The surgery was done in Community Hos. in so. okc & was a complete success in every way. I was dismissed the same day and back to work the following day.  In Dec. of this yr (2011)I had disc and sciatica problem in a different area of the back. Dr cook suggested fusion PLIF (posterior lumbar interbody fusion) of three vertebra to avoid further problems. This surgery was done on Dec. 23 and again a complete success. Dr. Cook not only made a hosp. visit on Christmas eve but also on Christmas day and released me. I could not be more satisfied with both surgeries . In my opinion Dr. Cook is a excellent Board Certified Neurosurgeon. He also has good bed side manners. He has a very good Med Asst. in Misty and the service at Community is excellent. Dr. Cook has a great team and I highly recommend him. Bill

really cared

Dec 20th, 2011

A few things stand out. He spent more time with me in the office than any other surgeon I've seen. He was very good at explaining what is going to be done with models, pictures, and videos. He responded to my emails himself after surgery, sometimes even late at night. Definitely top notch, very personal care.